Tags

, , ,


With how unpredictable the weather in Abu Dhabi is lately, I knew I had to take advantage when I saw how lovely the weather was that day. The sun was up accompanied by a steady, cool breeze, and everyone else was enjoying it as much as I was.

Days like these don’t come by often, so I knew that I had to get this floral skirt out of my closet. It’s like getting something out of your chest which you’ve kept for so long. I’ve been looking for the chance to wear this skirt out and about in the city. But with this weather, it was kind of hard to pull off without looking like a fashion disaster.

Mixing stripes with florals was also another one of those style taboos I dared myself to try. I was rummaging through my closet looking for the perfect top to go with the skirt, and almost almost (no, that’s not a typo) gave up in defeat when I saw this striped top at the far side of my closet. Without any more thoughts, I took it out, placed it beside the skirt, and went to bed eagerly wishing it was morning already.

Lately, I’ve developed this habit of making sure that what I’m wearing for the day is something I’m comfortable and happy in. Gone are the days when I would just put on the first thing I see in my closet, and off I go. I take my time in choosing what I wear and making sure I’m in love with it before I set off and start my day. (Is this what you call growing up? Haha.) If you need an hour to take a bath to feel really satisfied with how you feel about your body, then do it. If you can’t go out of the house without makeup or perfume, then don’t. You are entitled to feel good. Do something about that everyday.

In my case, I absolutely cannot go out of the house without any accessories. I must have at least a ring on my finger, a necklace, earrings, or my watch. One of the best and most effective ways to spice up an outfit is accessories. Enough said. It’s how you will show your character. Shoes come in second. So, what are the things you can’t leave the house without?

Striped top by H&M, Floral skirt by H&M, Heart locket from my dear grandmother (she spoils me with heart lockets), Handmade beaded bangle coveted from my mother's closet, Starfish ring by H&M, Floral ring by ALDO, Ankle booties by Pimkie

A lot of things can go wrong in one day, but there is absolutely no reason for us not to be happy for all the things that went right. It’s the little things we live for.  Don’t let one thing or one person or whatever ruin a perfectly good day. Cheer up. There’s so much more to smile about. ♥

Say hello to my outfit photographer, Ate Theresa Sagun! I’m always thankful for angels like her. Her friendship is always one of the reasons why I smile everyday. It’s something I’ve learned to live with, and cannot live without. ❤